KGSP – University Track vs Embassy Track

One of the most common questions that potential applicants may ask is which route/track is better while applying for KGSP. Well I am pretty sure both methods has their pros and cons. So since I have applied through the embassy track, I will be listing out it’s pros/advantages here in this blogpost in comparison to university track. This is all based on my personal opinion and judgement. Different people may think differently but in my opinion embassy track suits me better because of the following reasons.

1. It is more convenient.

For embassy track, you just have to submit your documents to the South Korean Embassy in your country. Whereas for university track, despite only having to prepare 1 copy of your application documents, you have to send it to the university directly by mail. Since the South Korean Embassy is just about an hour’s drive away from where I live, I reckon submitting my application to the embassy would be more convenient than sending the parcel over to Korea. Plus, you get the assurance that your documents is at the right place, since you will be the one handing over the documents personally.

2. You get to pick 3 universities instead of 1

Remember the saying that goes, “Never put all your eggs in one basket”? In embassy track , you get to pick 3 universities. Which means you have 3 chances in getting picked. For me, I picked Yonsei, SNU and KU, which are the SKY universities of Korea. During my application, I actually knew about how prestigious they were beforehand but I have had absolutely NO IDEA that it is actually wayyyy harder than my expectations. I only knew of this after I have passed the first round #toolate, but well lucky for me I got accepted into Yonsei (which was my 1st choice haha).

As I read through other people’s past experiences, some actually commented that you should pick at least 1 regional university (i.e. those outside of Seoul) to increase your chances. Well, good thinking I suppose. But I guess I am not really those that play safe all the time. :p It is definitely a challenge and my stress level was off the roof throughout the process because I picked tough universities. But the end result is definitely worth it.

3. I have more time to prepare for my documents

Since I do not have to mail over my documents to Korea, I actually have more time to prepare and consolidate all my documents. Some extra time will come in handy since there are so many documents that we have to notarize, photocopy, print and write. For a working individual like me, I do not have much free time during weekdays to prepare for my application. So I was able to use the time spent for mailing my documents to prepare.

So that is all from me. If you are planning to apply after reading my posts, good luck to you!

3 thoughts on “KGSP – University Track vs Embassy Track

  1. Btbld says:

    Hey, thanks for posting this.
    I want to know that do I have a chance to get accepted by either KAIST or SNU through KGSP without proficiency test scores?

    Like

    • Hi there, there is no definite yes or no about this as it depends on other factors as well. But for my case, I did not submit any language certificates (TOPIK, IELTS, TOEFL). My degree course was completed fully in English so that’s why I did not take the IELTS/TOEFL exams prior to my application. Hope this helps, good luck!

      Like

      • Btbld says:

        Hey, it’s me again 🙂 Do you mind if I ask few more questions?
        1) Do I need to write my rank in school? (asking it because my school doesn’t have such thing) I read that candidates have to write either gpa or rank. Is it fine to miss the rank?(my gpa is 3.6/4)
        2) Does transcript of school have to be sealed?
        3) Is there any phone or skype interview for embassy track? (cuz i’m outside my home country)

        Like

Leave a Reply

